Thoughtful Thursday: A new show, a great Etsy artist feature!

So, I’ve been sick for the past week with a really ugly cold, and I found a relatively new syfy channel show on hulu called “Face Off” to take my mind off of it. The show is right up my alley – a competition (think “Project Runway”) for special effects makeup artists! Now, you have to understand that I’ve wanted to do SFX since I was about 12 or 13 years old – right around the time I also wanted to be a forensic pathologist. So, I’m super excited about the show!

I watched all of the episodes available on hulu (from season 1, episode 5 to the first episode of season 2,) and when I got to the first episode of season 2, I noticed something. One of the contestants standing on the front row was wearing a cute headband that looked awfully familiar. It dawned on me that it might be a design of one of my favorite etsy artists, Janine Basil, so I sent her a message about it. Sure enough, it’s hers! Several people had already contacted her about it, but she can’t watch the episode. The show’s not available in the UK, and neither is hulu. So, Janine, I hope you can view this:

http://www.hulu.com/embed/ata_jfEmJgFvPfhOr-20Vg

You can view Janine’s headband at about 15:55, worn by the contestant standing front and center with long blond hair. Check out Janine’s shop for more amazing designs: http://www.etsy.com/shop/JanineBasil.

Anyway, the show has inspired me to pursue SFX techniques. I contacted a couple of makeup artist friends who also have experience with special effects, and they both gave me some great tips. One of them even offered to teach me! Now that’s a great start to a new year.

Share the Love,

Chelsea

Leave a comment

Filed under Thoughtful Thursday

Leave a Reply

