Whatever Weekend – Taking The Pledge For A Greener Closet

I must admit, there was a time when I was on the verge of a shopaholic. During lunch breaks, I’d cross the highway to Target and paruse their sales racks. Granted, most of the items I bought were easy on the wallet – I have the gene that brings on incredible guilt when I buy something full price. The thing was, I found myself buying things I realized I didn’t like that much a week later, and those things I didn’t like just kept piling up.

So, I donated a bunch of clothing, and started buying the majority of my clothing at thrift stores, and altering/refashioning some clothing I already had. Then I got a sewing machine, muahaha! Although I haven’t learned to sew from patterns, I intend to very soon. I have a drawer full of mostly vintage patterns just begging to be used again! I’ve found that I get more satisfaction from the compliments I recieve about my vintage and altered clothing than I ever did from the compliments on the manufactured stuff.

So, today, I want to take a pledge:

I will buy no new clothing (with the exception of needed undergarments) or accessories for the next year. I will alter the existing apparell in my closet, shop only at thrift/vintage/antique stores and garage/estate sales, and only buy clothing and accessories I really like. I will trade clothing with friends, and I will learn to make some clothing from scratch. I will continue to revisit my closet and donate clothing that no longer fits or no longer fits my style or taste throughout the year. My goal is to have a creative, earth-friendly closet with articles of clothing that are interchangeable for a variety of outfits I will actually wear.

Ultimately, I’m making this pledge to force myself to become more creative with fashion, since it’s something I’m interested in and use for work. It’s also a pledge to honor this earth that God has created, and to honor myself and celebrate my spirit through my outward appearance.

Wanna take the pledge? Feel free to use my words or come up with your own. I encourage you to pledge for the reasons that are meaningful to you!

 What about shoes, you ask? Well, I’m not sure yet. I don’t have a huge shoe fetish, and have pretty much everything I need in the way of shoes right now except sandals. So, I may buy one pair of sandals, or I may make some huaraches!

 Oh, and I’m also cutting my hair. Actually, I just got a shorter haircut for summer, but realized I’ve been wanting another hairstyle for a long time now, so I’m going to go for it. Something similar to these:

Yep, it's essentially a mohawk.This is probably the length it will be, since my top layer is about that long.

Yes, ladies and gents, I’m gonna get myself a flophawk, and I’m so excited!

What’s your dream hairstyle?

Share the Love,

Chelsea

Leave a comment

Filed under Whatever Weekend

Leave a Reply

