Make It Monday – I’m Not A Painter But I Play One On TV

I finally finished my second set of painted nursery letters for a friend. Her little man was just born a few days ago, and I can’t wait for them to hang his letters! She told me she even dreamed that I finished them after his birth, and that she was holding him while her husband hung them in the nursery. 🙂 I thought that was sweet. The other set is completely painted but without hangers, and the mommy to be hasn’t had her little one yet.

My very first set of letters! 3 letters aren't so bad. The second set is 6 letters, which was considerably more time consuming, even though the design isn't as complicated.

If you’re wanting to customize your own letters, whether it’s a monogram or a full name, I’ll share some things I’ve learned so far:

1. I wish I had taken a painting class somewhere along the way. I’m fine with basic shapes and shading, but anything more complicated is challenging for me. If you have painting skills, right on! If not, just pick a basic design, or try to replicate a print from a piece of fabric, paper, etc. It’s helpful to have a visual. Sketch your design lightly with pencil before you paint it.

2. Pick your paint. For the second set of letters, I used leftover latex wall paint from another project the couple did in the nursery. There were no worries about matching paint colors, but the paint has a much different consistency than acrylics and, for me, was harder to work with around the details of the designs. It’s less likely to scuff, though, so a topcoat isn’t needed.

3.  I still don’t know which hangers are best to use. The little nails/tacks that come in the packages of hangers are too long to use. I’m experimenting with which glue to use, making sure I find one that won’t result in the letters to falling from the wall! If anyone has suggestions, I’m open to them.

4. I understand why these letters can get so expensive when shopping online for them. They are time consuming, can be tedious, and, if you’re like me, you want to be sure to get every aspect right. Weigh your options – if you dislike the idea of spending lots of money on something you think you can make yourself, consider the time you’ll invest DIYing. Sometimes it’s worth it to pay a few extra dollars.

All in all, I’m proud of the way both sets of letters turned out. I can’t wait for them to be hung proudly in the babies’ rooms! Congrats to all of our friends who are beginning and adding to their families!

Share the Love,
Chelsea

Leave a comment

Filed under Make It Monday

Leave a Reply

