Thoughtful Thursday – There’s No Place Like (A Thrifty) Home

I am finally done with our Wizard of Oz themed Trunk Or Treat decorations and costumes! This is definitely the hardest I’ve worked for Halloween so far. I had short notice to get everything together – a little over a month – and I wasn’t sure if I’d get everything done, and within our budget. With a little craftiness and thriftyness, though, you can make big projects fit into a small budget. Since today is Thoughtful Thursday, I thought I’d share my thoughts on putting together an inexpensive Oz themed Trunk Or Treat.

First, you need a plan. If I hadn’t had a plan, I don’t think I’d have gotten everything done. We figured out which characters we wanted to be (hint: if you don’t have much time, I’d say the scarecrow and Dorothy, or maybe the witch, are the easiest costumes to put together.) Then I planned what I wanted the trunk to look like. I knew I wanted the yellow brick road leading to the Emerald City, and the idea grew from there. I realized I wanted a rainbow, and for the yellow road to extend out from the trunk. Be realistic about what you can achieve, and consider the materials you already have before you go out and buy a ton of stuff.

For the background, I used white posterboard, sketching the scene from movie stills, then used acrylic paint and glitter glue I have in my craft stash to paint the city. I cut out “hills” from different shades of green cardstock I already had to fill in the field. I decorated poppies I bought from the dollar store with the glitter glue, and glued them onto the background for a 3D effect. Also, using foam board, I cut out a rainbow shape and painted it. Here’s how it turned out:

Actually, I ended up clipping off the “Oz” lettering to leave less white space, and outlined the city with glitter. I think I might attach the letters to the rainbow, and add clouds from leftover white poster board. I’ll hang the leftover poppies from the top of the trunk with fishing line to fill in some of the empty space on the sides of the background, and place a blue plastic tablecloth (from the dollar store, of course) behind it all, with a light source (ahem, a flashlight) behind that. I’m hoping to use some fake plants to create a forest-y effect, and I’ll extend the yellow brick road from the trunk using cutouts from yellow posterboard. Altogether, the decorations for the trunk only cost $10 because I used paint, glitter, paper and glue that I already had. I’m pretty proud of the way they turned out!

I confess, I bought the Dorothy dress for fifteen bucks. Although, I think it was a Juniors size, so it was a little short when I tried it on. Since it was such a great deal (no thank you, $45 costume,) I just sewed some lace to the hem to lengthen the dress, bought some white socks for a dollar, and my mom helped me make these awesome ruby slippers from $5 silver shoes from Wal Mart. I bought a picnic basket for $1.75, and added the leftover lace from the dress to make it match. Add some blue ribbon to tie around my pigtails, and I’ve got an entire Dorothy costume for a little over $20. Color me stoked!

The scarecrow costume was relatively easy. My husband already had a green shirt and black sweatpants to use, and I had muslin scraps to make a headpiece, fleece to make a hat, and jute to use as rope. All I bought was raffia to tie around elastic bracelets and anklets for a stuffed-with-straw effect, and the face makeup. I made the hat by dividing the circumference of his head by 4, then cutting triangles that had that length for the base, and were about 8 inches tall. I stitched them together with embroidery thread, then glued the top of the hat onto a round brim with hot glue, accenting it with a piece of jute. The muslin is basically just a large circle with an opening cut for the face, tied with jute around his neck. We’ll tie jute around his wrists, ankles, and waist, and I’ll probably add some patches to his pants and call it a day. His costume cost $3 – one for the raffia, and two for the makeup. My inner thriftmonster is soothed!

There you have it. That’s the entire process, minus a few gory details, of making our Trunk Or Treat theme. I hope the kids like it. No flying monkeys, no witch, no haunted forest, so hopefully they won’t think the scarecrow is scary! We were Thing 1 and Thing 2 a few years ago, and some of the kids were scared of us – I think it was the blue hair. Anyway, it should be a blast. We’ll see how it goes when we actually set everything up in the trunk. I hope it looks as good then as it does in my head now.

Share the Love,

Chelsea

Leave a comment

Filed under Thoughtful Thursday

Leave a Reply

